Diane Weyermann

Diane Weyermann

President of Documentary Film & Television

As president of documentary film and television, Diane Weyermann is responsible for the documentary feature film and television slate of Participant Media, a company dedicated to entertainment that inspires and compels social change.

Participant’s documentary projects include Morgan Neville’s The Music of Strangers: Yo-Yo Ma and the Silk Road Ensemble, Joshua Oppenheimer’s The Look of Silence, Marc Silver’s 3 1/2 Minutes, Ten Bullets, Robert Gordon and Morgan Neville’s Best of Enemies, Davis Guggenheim’s He Named Me Malala and Bernardo Ruiz’s Kingdom of Shadows. Previous releases include the Oscar®-winning CITIZENFOUR, the Oscar®-winning An Inconvenient Truth, Emmy®-winning Food, Inc., the Emmy®-nominated The Great Invisible, Chicago 10, Pressure Cooker and Page One: Inside the New York Times, as well as Merchants of DoubtThe Unknown Known, The Internet’s Own Boy, Ivory Tower, A Place at the Table, State 194, Last Call at the Oasis, Waiting for “Superman,” Countdown to Zero, Climate of Change, Standard Operating Procedure, Jimmy Carter from Plains and Darfur Now.

Prior to joining Participant in 2005, Weyermann was the director of the Sundance Institute’s Documentary Film Program. During her tenure at Sundance, she was responsible for the Sundance Documentary Fund, a program supporting documentary films dealing with contemporary human rights, social justice, civil liberties, and freedom of expression from around the world. She launched two annual documentary film labs, focusing on the creative process – one dealing with editing and storytelling, and the other with music. Weyermann’s work in the documentary field extends many years prior to Sundance.

For seven years, Weyermann was the director of the Open Society Institute New York’s arts and culture program. In addition to her work with contemporary art centers and culture programs in the Soros Foundation network, she launched the Soros Documentary Fund (which later became the Sundance Documentary Fund) in 1996.



Participant Media